Brother David’s Double


Well I tried to hold off… I really and truly did. I simply could not wait any longer to try this beer. Not that this one in particular was calling to me, although it was. No, my need was for any beer really. Well, any good beer that is, luckily I happen to have three 750ml bottles of fine ale in my fridge. After careful consideration I decided to go with the Belgian Dubbel, or Double as they spell it here in America. It’s 3:00pm on a Saturday and I’m still in my pajamas. I woke up, made a lovely breakfast, played call of duty for a bit (after I got stoned of course) and then played a bit of L.A. Noire. It’s a very interesting game to say the least.  It’s one of a kind that is for sure…I’m getting off topic though. Again, a side effect of the marijuana.

Well here I sit with this beautiful brew in front of me. It poured very smoothly with a bit less head than I would have liked to see. Although some may say my expecatations about head are too high. (No I’m never going to stop making crude jokes about head) It’s a very dark brown, not a lot of red to this one. Another small let down in my eyes but I haven’t lost hope! Let’s see how she smells.

Ooooh, I literally just made that noise. This is a surprisingly strong scented beauty, a quality most would abhor on other beauties. In the case of beer though, it’s great to have a strong scent. There’s a very sweet smell of caramel and malts, accompanied by a strong scent of alcohol. It’s the sweet and bitter combination that makes me love Belgian styles so much. They are always so complex and subtly nuanced that you can truly take time to appreciate them. This smell indicates this brew is no exception, let’s find out. A moment while a raise my glass please…

Superb…The body is extremely smooth, though not as rich as I prefer in dubbels. I find that to be the case with American brewed dubbels, the imports just seem fuller and richer. Not to say this brew is lacking any flavor whatsoever though, what blasphemy would that be!? The sweetness is contrasted perfectly by the bitterness in the alcohol; it makes for a very well balanced brew. Let me see what else I can taste in there…it’s almost like a dubbel flavor mixed with a stout’s body. Well it turns out that’s a pretty damn fine combination. Bravo to Anderson Valley Brewing, in good ole California. I do like their mantra on the back: “Because man cannot live on bread alone.” I think I’ll steal that for my blog =)

Overall, this is a great beer to drink on a Saturday afternoon. Although the body is not what I expected it was a pleasant surprise rather than an unpleasant one. I wouldn’t say this is my favorite Dubbel, but definitely a contender amongst them.

Until next beer this is Brian G. signing out!

Categories: Beer, Belgian Dubbel | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Brother David’s Double

  1. D Madd

    Bravo! =)

  2. The age of fine American beers is upon us. I’ll have to check this one out.

  3. Tonebender

    Yo Brian hope all is good in your world man 😀

    Cheers :beer2:

    Tone

  4. Hey Tone, I’m back in action now =)

Share your thoughts

Blog at WordPress.com.

