Gouden Carolus Cuvee Van De Keizer Blauw


Ah, what a gloriously fine day it is. I solved a few problems I’d been having with some computers at work and I just finished a delicious steak dinner complete with au gratin potatoes. As we used to say in the military, “I’m fat and happy.” To top it all off I recently found an Ultima Online freeshard that is a lot like the one I used to play, so I’ve been able to relax and have some nostalgia. I’m in a very content mood as I sit down to write this review. And what a beer I have today!  Brewed by the old Het Anker brewery,  I know this one is gonna be fantastic. I can just feel it, and it makes me smile.

First of all, this beer has a hell of a name. Cuvee Van De Keizer Blauw…which I am almost certain means something about a Keizer and his choice of beer. Let’s see if we can find out more, shall we?
It’s a strong Dark Belgian ale, as you may have noticed if you read my blog, it is my favorite type of beer. Well, I cannot find an exact translation but it has the words Blue Emperor in it. Blue label is usually reserved for top notch liquors so I am not too surprised. Ok  now I feel silly because the translation is on the back of the bottle: “Grand Cru of The Emperor”. I do like Grand Cru although it’s usually a bit on the sour side.

As I poured out this blue beauty I almost fell in love. It’s an extremely dark amber with around one finger width of head. The head dissipated at a moderate pace and left a decent amount of lacing, oh god the lacing…like the accents of sexy lingerie. This beer certainly has a seductive quality to it. I just can’t resist it any longer.

The smell is fairly subdued in this particular brew, perhaps it is still too cold. I detect a hint of tart apple and a small trace of alcohol. This little lady packs a whopping 11% and I can barely smell it. I wonder if I can taste it. Regardless, I’ll have fun finding out.

Wow…not really much at all, it’s easy to forget this baby is 11%. Now THIS is a beer that packs in flavor, it’s immediately among my top 3 choices now. I’ve said that twice now, I only have room for one more. Ok, let me slow down and back up to describe the taste.
Immediately I taste the plums, then possibly caramel apple believe it or not. Mind you it’s a very SUBTLE taste here. It leaves a fantastic aftertaste of caramel with just enough bite of alcohol before it.
The body on this beer is amazingly complex. It’s extremely smooth and rich with the perfect amount of carbonation to really let you taste all the flavors. It has a great feel to it, velvety even. God this is good beer, I’m glad I have a whole bottle!

Overall I am extremely impressed but not overly surprised. Het, I can call you Het right? Het puts out quality beers and I was expecting this to be a great one, but it truly took its place of honor in my personal favorites. I wasn’t expecting it to be THIS good. I HIGHLY recommend trying this beauty out, it’s soft and silky and dances on your tongue like a daffodil caught in the wind….uh sorry I’ll lay off the weed.

Until next beer this is Brian G.  signing out!

Categories: Beer, Belgian Strong Dark Ale | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Share your thoughts

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

