Great Divide Hercules Double IPA


I’d like to give a toast in honor of §í£vê®Ð®âgôñ and his new elevated membership in my secret club! Congratulations sir! You are the Hercules of what you do for us, so I offer this toast in the name of progress!
Here’s to you §í£vê®Ð®âgôñ! (*insert drinking*)

Ah, what an aptly name beer for a lunch break review. It states right on the bottle “Not for the Faint of heart”. There’s nothing like a nice strong beer at lunch to lubricate the rest of the work day. This particular brew emphasizes a lot of hops in the brew and a high ABV. Sitting at 10%, this beer is a serious contender in the realm of ABV.

I’ve had Great Divide’s take on Belgian Ale in the past. It was good, but not my typical choice in Belgian Ale. It was much lighter than I prefer with Belgians. Nonetheless, it was still a great beer.  This Hercules Double IPA seems to be their flagship brew. It’s not a fact, just an alcoholic assumption on my part.

It pours a nice medium dark amber with a finger width of head that dissipates quickly. Ah memories…I do miss IPAs, it’s been a long while since I’ve had one actually. It’s a nice change of pace from all the darker brews I’ve been sampling. I have some idea of what it will smell like based on the label’s description, let’s see how accurate my assumption really is.

Oh yeah, dig those hops baby. This is hop city USA right here sweetheart! The hops jump right out at you and up your nose, almost rudely. There is also a sweet undertone to the smell, probably the malts. Whatever it is, it provides a pleasant backdrop to the hops. Enough about her smell, let’s see how she tastes. (Please don’t take that last sentence out of context!)

Oh yes, this is a good IPA. It’s got that hoppy bitterness that’s prominent in most of Sam Adam’s beers but not as strong. It’s at just the right level IMAO (in my alcoholic opinion). While the hops are prominent they don’t overwhelm the other underlying flavors. You get the hops at first, followed by a sweet subtle taste of malts and nuts….ahem. This is followed by an aftertaste of more hops and alcohol. A pleasant brew through and through.

Overall I’m glad to have a nice change of pace. This brew is a refreshing splash, unlike the Belgians which are more refined and subdued. I’m gonna grab some more IPAs on my next trip. It’s time to get back to my roots!

Until next beer this is Brian G. signing out.

Categories: Beer, Imperial IPA | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Great Divide Hercules Double IPA

  1. You are the man Brian…pity that ya cant get most of these great beers where I live, which is in between Dullsville and the Sahara 😀

    Cheers

    Tone

    • Thanks Tone =)
      I hope you find some good beer sooner or later. There’s always good whiskey though 😉

Share your thoughts

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

