Rodenbach Grand Cru


Well this is a very interesting day. I have a Belgian beer I picked up which I thought was a dubbel. It turned out
to be a Flanders Red Ale, whatever the hell that is. It’s an import from Belgium brewed at Rodenbach. This
particular brew has been aged for 33% “young” ale and 66% that has been aged for two years in oak barrels. I am thoroughly intrigued by this bodacious brew. Let’s see what she looks like!

The pour is an extremely dark red with a nice foamy head of about one fingers width. It dissipated at a moderate pace with no lacing and a thin ring around the brew. It’s very thick, like me, and you cannot see through it at all. Looks pretty promising to me,  on to the smell!

The aroma reminds me of sour apples. I can’t detect much else besides an extreme sourness. Alas, it seems my shoddy olfactory system is leaving you readers in the dark. Let’s move past my failure and onto the taste lest I be stoned to death. (Not in the good way) I’ve always been confident in my ability to drink beer.
Wow, this is a sour brew for sure!
Ok, ok I need to relax. I’ve never tasted a beer like this in my life! I’m  going to take a slow sip and analyze the taste in an orderly fashion..ok here we go…
The very first thing I notice is a bite, it’s up front and center. But it’s not really an alcohol bite. No, it’s a mix
between alcohol, carbonation, and sourness.Ah, then I detect a hint of apple or some other fruit immediately
afterwards. Upon swallowing the bite from the sourness takes over and leaves a nice aftertaste as well. It’s a
mixture of sweetness and sourness, this is a very complex beer.
It has a fairly rich body but not as rich as a dubbel. It’s a very satisfying texture with a very nice bite.

Overall this is one of the most interesting beers I’ve ever tasted. I’ve never had one this sour but it is not
overwhelming by any means. In fact, I could easily grow accustomed to such a taste. It brings to mind the adventure of warheads from a simpler, more innocent time.
Until next beer this is Brian G. signing out!

Categories: Beer, Red Ale | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Rodenbach Grand Cru

  1. I too was blown away by the flavor of this beer. The title “Red Ale” really doesn’t prepare you for the unique taste. I haven’t been so flabbergasted by the taste of a brew since my first sip of Old Chub.

    An interesting note about the name. Grand Cru, normally used to describe wine, refers to the ground quality where the ingredients are grown. There are other Cru classes, but the grand refers to soil that is in its prime for growing.

    Great review!

Share your thoughts

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

