Ommegang Abbey Ale


Surprise, Surprise… I’m reviewing the now-remembered Abbey Ale from Good Ole’ Ommegang. say that name three times fast.. After having their Rare Vos brew I’ve got high expectations for this one. Let take a journey together, shall we?

Ah yes, there is the color I was looking for. Albeit more expected from a Dubbel than a Dark Ale which is a bit ironic when you think about it…alright, maybe not. It’s a very rich dark brown. A nice thick head comes from pouring this dark beauty which dissipates at a moderate speed. About 20 seconds or so I’d estimate…but my sense of timing has come into question before. I blame the marijuana.

On to the smell! Let’s stick our collective noses and have a sniff together. Whoops, I splashed a bit on my nose… ah great…well let me locate a napkin. (Insert time spent looking for napkin) Alright, ready to go. Now the first thing I noticed is this brew’s nose (that’s a fancy way of saying aroma) (Aroma is a fancy way of saying smell) Ahem…sorry I got sidetracked again.
This brews NOSE is subtle but if you pay close attention, which you’d better be doing, you can detect some nice things in there. I detect chocolate first and foremost, there’s no denying that. It’s accompanied by a slight fruity smell, ever so slight mind you. “Which fruit?” you ask.  Well my friend, if I could answer that question I would. I fear my sense of smell leaves something to be desired. Regrettably it is you, the reader, who suffers from my lack of smell. Perhaps a quick taste will solve this issue.

Well, lets not make hasty tastys….sorry I won’t ever do that again…today.
Ahh yes, a nice long sip reveals much more about this brew, mainly that it’s delicious. It has a very rich feel to it. Not a full-bodied feel like a dopplebock, no just very complex. It has an extremely smooth body, my favorite kind actually. Get your mind out of the gutter!
Continuing… The alcohol is much more apparent in this brew than the last. Ah, looking at the bottle now that is not surprising. It is 8.5% compared to the 6.5% Rare Vos from this brewery. That being said, it actually improves the taste a bit IMAO. (In my Alcoholic Opinion) The carbonation is a bit lackluster to be honest, it does have a much smaller head than its Dark Ale brother. I find that is a common aspect of Dubbels so they can’t be faulted for brewing it correctly. The fruit is not apparent whatsoever so maybe I WAS imagining the smell. Let me consult the label: Interesting fact about this brewery, it’s part of the “Duvel Family of Fine Ales”.
Well yippie-kai-yay I happen to have a Duvel in the fridge! I’ll be sure to review that one…when I feel like it.

Overall it is another fine entry from this brewery. I enjoy this brew a bit more than their Rare Vos. Perhaps it is just the higher ABV speaking to the little alcoholic inside me.
Until Next time this is Brian G signing out!

Categories: Beer, Belgian Dubbel | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Share your thoughts

Blog at WordPress.com.

