Ommegang Rare Vos


A Beautiful Belgian Dubbel

Well here we are with a Belgian Style brew. Brewed in New York city at 2.99 a bottle this could easily become a regular sighting in my household. I noticed this alongside another Belgian style from this brewery that I can’t remember the name to, regardless I decided to pick them both up. After tasting Rochefort Trappistes 8 I am hard pressed to find another Belgian, be it Dubbel or Strong Dark, that can live up to the standard Rochefort has set so high.

Hopefully this will be a contender since Rochefort is 5.79 a bottle…that’s an 11.2oz bottle.
Ah, a nice golden/amber color. This really surprised me as this is a Belgian Dark Ale. It pours with a good amount of head, oh about 4 fingers width, 2 if you have sausage fingers. The head died down after around 35 seconds and leaves a nice medium thin layer. I really think the amount of head on this brew is perfection, its in that area I so love.

The smell… oh wow! Now this is a great smelling brew, it smells like spring with a hint of summer. Very light smelling but it almost smiles at you…if that makes any sense at all.

Now for that special part I’ve been oh so longing for…
Wow…fantastic taste. Simply superb! Allow me to elaborate: Upon entering my mouth…ok let me re-word that.

The first thing I noticed was the feel of this brew. Very nice carbonation, the bubbles dance off your taste-buds with pure delight!

Too much?

It is a fantastic mouth-feel, all hyperboles aside. It’s a very light initial taste with a touch of apricot or peach or some other fruit among that taste category. On swallowing..again get your mind out of the gutter.
The beer allows just enough bite once you swallow it, followed by a floral aftertaste that reminds me a lot of the
taste extremely good weed leaves with you. A great beer to compliment fine grade ganja.
I must say I am quite impressed with this new york brewery and look forward to trying the other beer from them
whose name has so easily escaped my vapid mind.

I digress….
Please, enjoy this brew if you like Belgians. At 6.5% and 2.99 a bottle it could easily be a staple.

Categories: Beer, Belgian Strong Dark Ale | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Share your thoughts

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

